Vedic Astrology - The Fundamentals

Published: 10th March 2009
Views: N/A

Vedic Astrology, also known as Jyotish Shastra, refers to the ancient study of celestial bodies, their absolute and relative positioning on the universal plane and their overall influence on earthly being. This fundamental principle governing this ancient study is based on the Universal Law of Nature and the wisdom representing the Vedic Astrology is not limited into the boundary of time or space.

According to Vedic Astrology, there is a unique interrelation between every animate and non-animate being as they exist in this earthly plane and thus all of them are integrally related to each other. Vedic Astrology sheds light on the fundamental principles of Nature and tries to find out the necessary spiritual tools that improve the quality of life by means of harmonizing an individual to the essence of Nature.

Zodiac Symbolism and Their Relation to Western Astrology

The difference betweenWestern astrolgoy and vedic astrology is considerably significant. The most important difference is identified in the application of Zodiac symbols. Vedic Astrology puts a special emphasis on Sidereal or static or eternal zodiac method. On the other hand, Western system exclusively considers Tropical or dynamic or vibrant method. Both the system differs from each other in about 230. This is why, Western system counts one sign back than the Vedic astrological signs.

Another considerable difference lies in the understanding of the treaties for these two different systems. While Western system deals with dynamic psyche or overt human behavior, the principle of Vedic astrology is much deep-seated surrounding an individual's karmic outline.

Fundamental Elements

Vedic Astrology or Jyotish Shastra considers 9 heavenly bodies or planets, 12 houses and 12 zodiac signs. Since this rich ancient study was exclusively written in Sanskrit language and to keep the essence and implication intact, the same terminologies are used till date. For example, planet is referred to as 'graha', house as 'sthana' or 'bhavan' and zodiac as 'rashi'. The common general names and their corresponding Sanskrit names are Sun (Ravi), Moon (Chandra), Mars (Mangala), Mercury (Budha), Jupiter (Guru), Venus (Shukra), Saturn (Shani), Rahu and Ketu.

The 12 signs in Vedic Astrology are Aries (or Mesha), Taurus (or Vrishaba), Gemini (or Mithuna), Cancer (or Karkata), Leo (or Simha), Virgo (or Kanya), Kibra (or Tula), Scorpio (or Vrischika), Sagittarius (or Dhanus), Capricorn (or Makara), Aquarius (or Kumbha) and Pisces (or Meena). The 12 houses are respectively first house (pratham sthana or lagnasthana, tanusthana), second house (ditiyo sthana or dhyana sthana, kutumb sthana), third house (tritiyo sthana or bhatru sthana, parakram sthana), fourth house (chaturtha sthana or matru sthana, sukha sthana), fifth house (pancham sthana or vidya sthana, putra sthana), sixth house (sastha sthana or ripu sthana, roga sthana), seventh house (saptam sthana or bharya sthana, maraka sthana), eight house (astham sthana or mrityu sthana), ninth house (nabam sthana or bhagya sthana), tenth house (dasham sthana or pitru sthana), eleventh house (ekadash sthana or labha sthana) and twelfth house (dadash sthana or vyaya sthana).

Relation of Karma to Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology puts primary emphasis over Karma. According to Karmic belief, an individual's life is governed by both of his past good action as well as bad action. This belief is absolutely fundamental in understanding the core principles of Vedic Astrology in terms of analyzing one's Karmic path with a desire to enhance one's own self reflection. In true sense, Karma in association with Vedic Astrology can be illustrated by considering the birth time of an individual.

During the astrological calculation, the birth moment is taken under consideration in order to understand the position of celestial rays in relation to their mutual conjugation satisfying the mathematical concord with individual karma. The calculation explains an individual's current condition as a by product of our previous actions and thoughts. Hence Vedic astrology defines the comprehensive design of individual talents, crisis, and desires and offers a detailed guidance to deal with both internal and external crisis, while keeping a close focus on karmic consequences.George Bonico is a freelance writer who is interested in Astrology signs and the art of astrology readings. Visit Vedic Astrology - The Fundamentals.

Report this article Ask About This Article

More to Explore